Sub-project 4 – Multi-scale thermoplastic analysis in the solidification zone

Motivation

By adding alloying elements steels with higher strengths and better formability can be produced. This often results in disadvantages with regard to weldability or the likelihood of crack occurence. In order to represent and investigate the complex thermomechanical processes in the mushy zone during laser beam welding and the solidication region, which occur on the microscale, and to analyse their effect on the macroscale a multi-scale modelling approach is required. The challenges are the consideration of the multi-physical and multi-scale effects that influence in the process and the mapping of the time-variable microstructure of the solidication zone. For the development of an effcient process simulation software the cooperation of mechanics and mathematics is indispensable. Furthermore information on metallurgical properties on the microscale is needed to develop a meaningful model. The focus is on the development of a highly scalable software implementation of the FE2-method based on the combination of suitable material modelling and solution methods.

Schematic representation of the two-scale homogenization on the mesoscale (a), dendritic microstructure (b) from SP6, as a basis for constructing the SSRVEs (c) using appropriate statistical measures (d).
Figure: Schematic representation of the two-scale homogenization on the mesoscale (a), dendritic microstructure (b) from sub-project 6, as a basis for constructing the SSRVEs (c) using appropriate statistical measures (d). Fig. 2b with kind permission of the AG Nestler, IDM. Source: Institut für Mechanik, Universität Duisburg-Essen (IfM), Lehrstuhl für Technische Mechanik, Technische Universität Kaiserslautern (LTM)

Objective

Within the scope of sub-project 4 (SP4), a multi-scale thermomechanically coupled model for laser beam welding will be developed. The process is considered on the mesoscale, which represents part of the macroscale in the mushy zone, and on the microscale, which reffects the dendritic microstructure in the solidication zone. The two-scale analysis is carried out using the FE2-method. The objective is to determine stress and strain distributions which play a crucial role in solidication crack initiation. In order to efficiently simulate microstructural effects the microstructure will be represented by a statistically similar relevant volume element (SSRVE). Since both, process control and the considered location, produce different microstructure variants, these will be analyzed and evaluated each for their crack sensitivity.

Work plan

For the process simulation of laser beam welding, a heat source model will be implemented in SP4, which will be calibrated with experimental data from sub-project 1 and sub-project 2. In the course of the sub-project, an interface for the integration of the thermofluid-dynamic weld pool model evolved in sub-project 3 will be developed and implemented. The material modelling of the liquid and solid phase fractions of the mushy zone is carried out via a thermodynamically consistent formulation within the framework of thermoelastoplasticity. The developed model will be implemented in the process simulation software environment in close exchange with sub-project 5 (SP5) and used for initial simulation studies at micro and meso levels. To represent the dendritic, variable microstructure in the mushy zone, the approach of SSRVEs will be extended. Data from the literature serve as a basis, which will later be replaced by data from the high-resolution phase field models from sub-project 6. The integration into the software environment for the multiscale simulation of the laser beam welding process will be done in close coordination with SP5. The software developed in this way provides information on stress and strain states in the material as a function of process control and can be used in studies to estimate susceptibility to solidication cracking.

Sub-project management

Jun.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Lisa Scheunemann

Technische Universität (TU) Kaiserslautern
Chair of Applied Mechanics (LTM)

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jörg Schröder

Universität Duisburg-Essen (UDE)
Institute of Mechanics (IfM)

Sub-project researcher

Philipp Hartwig, M.Sc.

Universität Duisburg-Essen (UDE)
Institute of Mechanics (IfM)

Teilprojekt 4 – Mehrskalige thermoplastische Analyse in der Erstarrungszone

Motivation

Durch die Zugabe von Legierungselementen können Stähle mit höheren Festigkeiten und besserer Umformbarkeit produziert werden. Damit einhergehend können Nachteile bezüglich der Schweißeignung oder Rissanfälligkeit entstehen. Um die komplexen thermomechanischen Vorgänge beim Laserstrahlschweißen im Bereich der Mischzone und des Erstarrungsbereiches, welche sich auf der Mikroskala abspielen, adäquat abzubilden und zu untersuchen und deren Auswirkung auf der Makroskala zu analysieren, bedarf es eines mehrskaligen Modellierungsansatzes. Die Herausforderungen sind dabei die Berücksichtigung der damit auftretenden multiphysikalischen und mehrskaligen Effekte und die Abbildung der zeitlich veränderlichen Mikrostruktur der Erstarrungszone. Für die Entwicklung einer effizienten Software zur Prozesssimulation ist die Zusammenarbeit von Mechanik und Mathematik unabdingbar. Auch werden Informationen zu metallurgischen Eigenschaften auf der Mikroskala benötigt, um ein aussagekräftiges Modell zu entwickeln. Dabei steht die Entwicklung einer hochskalierbaren Softwareumsetzung der FE2-Methode auf Basis der Kombination geeigneter Materialmodellierung sowie Lösungsverfahren im Fokus.

Abbildung Schematische Darstellung der zweiskaligen Homogenisierung auf der Mesoskala
Abbildung: Schematische Darstellung der zweiskaligen Homogenisierung auf der Mesoskala (a), dendritische Mikrostruktur (b) aus Teilprojekt 6 als Basis zur Konstruktion der SSRVEs (c) unter Verwendung geeigneter statistischer Mae (d). Quelle: mit freundlicher Genehmigung des Instituts für Digitale Materialforschung (IDM).

Ziel

Im Rahmen des Teilprojekts 4 (TP4) wird ein mehrskaliger thermomechanisch gekoppelter Modellierungsansatz für das Laserstrahlschweißen entwickelt. Die Betrachtung des Prozesses erfolgt einerseits auf der Mesoebene, die einen Teil der Makroebene im Bereich der Mischzone abbildet, und andererseits auf der Mikroebene, die die dendritische Mikrostruktur in der Erstarrungszone widerspiegelt. Die zweiskalige Betrachtung erfolgt mit der FE2-Methode. Das Ziel liegt dabei in der Bestimmung von Spannungs- und Dehnungsverteilungen, die für die Erstarrungsrissentstehung eine entscheidende Rolle spielen. Um mikrostrukturelle Effekte effizient zu simulieren, wird die Mikrostruktur über ein statistisch ähnlich relevantes Volumenelement (SSRVE) abgebildet. Da sowohl Prozessführung als auch der betrachtete Ort verschiedene Mikrostrukturvarianten hervorbringen, werden diese jeweils auf ihre Rissempfindlichkeit hin analysiert und bewertet.

Vorgehensweise

Zur Prozesssimulation des Laserstrahlschweißens wird in TP4 zunächst ein Wärmequellenmodell implementiert, welches im ersten Schritt mit experimentellen Daten aus Teilprojekt 1 und Teilprojekt 2 kalibriert wird. Im Verlauf des Projekts wird zusätzlich eine Schnittstelle zur Einbindung des in Teilprojekt 3 entwickelten thermofluiddynamischen Schmelzbadmodells aufgebaut und implementiert. Die Materialmodellierung der flüssigen und der festen Phasenanteile der Mischzone erfolgt über eine thermodynamisch konsistente Formulierung im Rahmen der Thermoelastoplastizität. Das entwickelte Modell wird in engem Austausch mit Teilprojekt 5 in die Softwareumgebung zur Prozesssimulation implementiert und für erste Simulationsstudien auf Mikro- und Mesoebene genutzt. Zur Darstellung der dendritischen, veränderlichen Mikrostruktur in der Mischzone wird der Ansatz der SSRVEs erweitert. Als Grundlage dienen Daten aus der Literatur, die später durch hochaufgelöste Phasenfeldmodelle aus Teilprojekt 6 ersetzt werden. Der Einbau in die Softwareumgebung zur Multiskalensimulation des Laserstrahlschweißprozesses wird wiederum in enger Abstimmung mit Teilprojekt 5 erfolgen. Die so entwickelte Software liefert abhängig von der Prozessführung Aussagen zu Spannungs- und Dehnungszuständen im Material und kann in Studien zur Abschätzung von Rissanfälligkeit eingesetzt werden.

Teiprojektleitung

Jun.-Prof. Dr.-Ing. Lisa Scheunemann

Technische Universität (TU) Kaiserslautern
Lehrstuhl für Technische Mechanik (LTM)

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jörg Schröder

Universität Duisburg-Essen (UDE)
Institut für Mechanik (IfM)

Teiprojektbearbeitung

Philipp Hartwig, M.Sc.

Universität Duisburg-Essen (UDE)
Institut für Mechanik (IfM)